BBC Breakfast – updated with clip

Posted: November 5, 2014 in Round Three
Tags: ,

I’ve had such an amazing day. Thank-you for all your lovely comments and messages. I’m still buzzing!!

I didn’t sleep a wink last night and woke with a feeling of absolute terror, but by the time I got to BBC studio I had calmed down a bit. In my head I was telling myself ‘what’s the worst that can happen?’…I might make a twat of myself. Big deal, it won’t kill me.

The presenters make it all look so easy & made me feel really comfortable. Geoff Beattie (you might have recognised as the psychologist from Big Brother) was lovely and I’m so glad he was there to do the science bit.

I was incorrectly introduced as having terminal cancer, but this was a misunderstanding around the terminology and just goes to show how important language is when we´re talking about cancer. They also mispronounced my name but everyone does, so I let this one go.

As I said in the interview, the disease is only classed as terminal when you run out of treatment options.  I have secondary, not terminal cancer.

I’ve never done anything like this before and I thought I did okay, but I got such a shock when I watched the footage back at home.

When the call came through yesterday I nearly said no. I’m so glad I didn’t. It’s given me a thirst to talk more about this shitty disease and the predicament those us with secondary cancer face.

Anyway thanks again for tuning in. Here´s the clip for those that missed it.

Comments
  1. josnewlife says:

    You are amazing!!!! Thank you for speaking up!!! Love from Jo / US – Florida

  2. Anonymous says:

    You were awesome Kath, well done you!! xxxx

  3. Anonymous says:

    You should be very proud of yourself! I am proud of you! Well done much love. Carol

  4. Mike says:

    you were ace, be proud 🙂

Don't be shy leave a reply