Pretty, pretty good!

Posted: August 31, 2015 in Round Three
Tags: ,

In the words of my misanthropic hero, Larry David, this week has been ‘Pretty, pretty good‘!

I had some good news which hasn’t quite sunk in yet. I found out the tumours in my liver and lungs have either shrunk or remained stable. I now have one, small but stable tumour in my liver and a few small tumours in my lungs. The bones mets (metastases) are also showing signs of healing.

I didn’t expect to be here now. When I was diagnosed with brain mets in February, things were looking really bad. If you remember, around that time I also had progression in my lungs and liver. I assumed it was the beginning of the end.

I’m not getting too complacent because this can happen with treatment. A drug will work for a while until the cancer becomes resistant, leading to further progression.

But, I feel really well at the moment. I’ve recovered from surgery and the side effects of my current drug regime are minimal. This means I’m getting my fitness back and I’ve felt well enough to go hill-walking over the past three weekends.

The synergism of the Care Oncology drugs with regular treatment (Everolimus and Exemestane) seems to be working really well for me, as I’ve had two lots of good scan results since starting this combination. 

For the first time in a year I’m beginning to feel like a normal person instead of a cancer patient. You’ve got no idea how good that feels.

I’m off to Italy on Friday, but I’ve got lots going on when I return. Killer Kilts relaunch is planned for the beginning of October, I’m doing my yoga foundation with the British Wheel of Yoga and I’m thinking about going back to university. Life is pretty, pretty good!

Comments
  1. Sandra Littlewood says:

    Brilliant news Kath! Your latest blog has made us feel pretty, pretty good too! Enjoy Italy, sending lots of love to you, xx

  2. Norma says:

    Great news. I’m always thinking of you. Enjoy Italy.
    I’m off today on hols. We have a family wedding in Tokyo so my sister and I are starting our OAP Tour in Singapore, Thailand, Tokyo, Hong Kong, Beijing and finishing off in London then home.
    Take Care.
    Norma xx

  3. vancouver-mummigrant says:

    I am so happy to read about this! Would love to book your flight over here, possibly in April when I’m off. Let’s do it! Can’t wait to hear about your (upcoming) adventures in yoga and Uni!

  4. Lynn says:

    Thrilled for you 💖

  5. That is fantastic news! Brilliant! Enjoy Italy. Xx

  6. Hi Katherine, What heartening news! Have a fantastic time in Italy. xxx

  7. Long may the good news continue toots! x 🙂

  8. Anonymous says:

    Really great news Kath, love Nancy x

  9. Awesome! Keep rocking the “pretty, pretty good”! Hope you have a fabulous time in Italy – tell us about your adventures 🙂

Don't be shy leave a reply