FECin Chemo

Posted: June 24, 2012 in The Big C
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve now got my first chemo session under my belt and it wasn’t all that bad. My drug combination goes by the delightful acronym ‘FEC‘:  exactly what I was thinking when they strapped me in on Friday.

Worse was getting a Picc line (peripherally inserted central catheter) inserted the day before. Chemotherapy drugs knacker your veins, so I now have a catheter inserted into a vein in my my arm, which travels into a larger vein in my chest. It’s slightly disconcerting having a plastic tube & tap strapped to your arm 24/7 but I’ve got used to it now. The only rules are no golf, no tennis, no swimming and no baths. It wasn’t painful, just a very strange thing to get your head around. The tranquillisers came in very handy for this appointment.

After two hours of intravenous chemotherapy on Friday I feel surprisingly ok. I’m on steroids & anti-emetics to stop me feeling sick and they seem to be working so far. Aside from the nausea and a little tiredness, the only other major side effect has been my appetite which has all but disappeared. I’ve had some weird cravings for bananas and crisps although not at the same time.

I’m now on a juicing, cleansing mission cutting out all the bad stuff: no caffeine, no dairy, no wheat and no alcohol. The general feeling of queasiness means I haven’t wanted or craved any of the above.

I expect the worse side effects are yet to come. Between my 3 weekly cycles my immune system will crash, meaning I have minimal immunity. This means avoiding people & places where I might catch something. The slightest sniffle and I could be hospitalised. Scary stuff but I just have to be sensible and avoid people who are obviously germ laden.

I’ve also been told hair loss is inevitable. This came as a bit of a shock as Manchester had told me this could be prevented using the cold cap, however I’ve since found out, this isn’t an option. At this stage I’m willing to give anything a try, so I’m now making a super juice daily (Jane Plant), said to minimise hair loss. It’s a bizarre but rather tasty concoction of fennel, apple, carrot & ginger.  I’m not sure of the science but I know it’s something to do with folic acid.

The chemo scarf look really doesn’t appeal, so I’ve been stockpiling funky headwear & thanks to the Scottish government I also get a free wig. I hope the rest of my treatment is as straightforward as this but I have a feeling the worst is yet to come. Bring it on.

Comments
  1. loulouctee says:

    Blunt, poetic, strong. Honoured to be reading it. Keep doing what your doing in your own classy way! xx

  2. Zoe says:

    Kath my love, don’t know if this is any use to you but I found this link in case xxxxx Zoe

    http://happychemo.com/MN/1019/caring-and-comfort.htm

  3. Kristy says:

    Maybe we can have some of your fab juices for your party? Good reading Ka Ka 🙂

  4. Amy Grenham says:

    Good job you are so annoyingly beautiful and will still look good with a crop. x

  5. Ben Tagoe says:

    Great blog Kath, here’s another tune for you….B x x

  6. Sal Grim says:

    Just read the whole lot. Brought a tear to my eye, especially reading about the first weekend and diagnosis day. Carry on venting. Xxx

Don't be shy leave a reply

